Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Prophet of Doom

Posted by Erik on June 17, 2009

Please enjoy this truly phenomenal jazz piece (about the mythical Cassandra) from Cassandra Wilson and the David Murray Black Saint Quartet:

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wyX9H5s3izo]

The lyric is by the great writer and performer Ishmael Reed; here he is reading the poem. It’s a very different experience, but still powerful:

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p2Yu4gxKdc&NR=1]

And while we’re on the subject, did you know that ABBA recorded a song about Cassandra as well? Yes, I said ABBA… :)

3 Responses to “Prophet of Doom”

  1. Maebius said

    I liked the poetic reading best of the two, but more importantly, the ABBA song took me back/away to a magical place. Loved it! Thanks for sharing.
    /reminds himself to get some more ABBA MP3s for meditation practices. :)

  2. executivepagan said

    My preferences fall pretty much in the order given… although I did enjoy ABBA way back in the day (I was in high school when the last album was released).

  3. R.D. Hammond said

    Cassandra has a place near and dear to my heart.

    I spend a great deal of time predicting the bad things that will happen at my job, and no one ever listens to me! :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

