Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Stunningly beautiful Hellenic picture book

Posted by Erik on April 25, 2007

I’m a picture book junkie, and I don’t throw around these adjectives lightly… the illustrator was obviously heavily influenced by the Pre-Raphaelites, and in particular by Edward Burne-Jones.

Orpheus and Eurydice, by Sybil Gräfin Schönfeldt, illustrated by Iassen Ghiuselev

Daedalus Books currently has it for $3.98 US. They actually have several children’s books of Hellenic interest, including “Run With Me, Nike” from the Smithsonian Odyssey series; as well as “Simeon’s Gift”, by Julie Andrews, which looks like it has serious potential for the Druidically inclined.

ADDENDUM, 5/8/07 – Both the other books mentioned above are indeed worthwhile. “Run With Me, Nike” is a cute little time travel story about a boy who is transported back to the ancient Olympics and prays to Nike for victory in a footrace; “Simeon’s Gift” is a lovely fable about a musician who loses his gift of music until he learns to hear the music of Nature and the world around him (basically learning to sense the flow of Awen, albeit expressed in very faintly Christian terms).

2 Responses to “Stunningly beautiful Hellenic picture book”

  1. Robin Artisson said

    Good Day, Erik! If you have read the last three posts at my blog, you can see that after recent powerful dream-visions, I am making some changes. You should either enter my blog under “Druid Blogs”, or more accurately, put a link to it under both Druid and Heathen Blogs, because that’s more like what it is. It always was, actually, if you look back at the first posts I made to it, but now, thanks to the intervention of the Gods in this holy season, I am beginning the long trek to resolve myself to my Celtic ancestry- being dual-traditioned (and of dual ancestry) is challenging, but it’s a challenge that I’m up to.

    Thank you for pointing out that Orpheus and Eurydice book- I ordered it, so that my daughter can have it to read when she’s old enough. I can’t wait to see the art.

    RA

  2. executivepagan said

    Hi Robin,
    I have added you to the “Druid Blogs” section as well.

    I actually have the last three posts saved up to read this weekend – I’ve been traveling again and haven’t had time to read anybody this last week or so… but I’m looking forward to it!

    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

 
