Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

first anniversary post

Posted by Erik on February 19, 2008

It was twenty years ago today that Sergeant Pepper taught the band to play… and it was (almost) one year ago today that I started this blog. The anniversary is actually on the 21st, but the rest of my week is going to be kind of crazy so I wanted to be sure I got this in ahead of time.

I’ve been thinking about what to do with this post for a couple of weeks, and not really coming up with anything innovative. A lot of people do blog retrospectives, but that doesn’t really feel right at this moment; so instead I think I’ll talk about me (yes, again), and the changes that have come about in my life this year that are at least partly due or related to this blog.

Let’s start with the reason that I’ve been blogging so lightly the last week or two – I have been copy-editing a book for Bibliotheca Alexandrina. I sent it back to the author yesterday, so now I have a little more time to think about other things, like blogging… at least until we start seriously working on the children’s book(s) I’m going to be editing. :)

This may turn out to be one of the most important changes of this last twelve months – my recent involvement with Neos Alexandria has led directly to the fulfillment of a decades-long interest in becoming involved in some way with the book business, as well as affording me the chance to put to use skills that I have developed over a lifetime of reading and writing (and in the service of my Gods, even!). I initially joined NA mostly because some of my oldest friends in the Hellenic community were there, people like Sannion and Kallistos that I’ve known (online) for years; just goes to show, you never know what the Fates have in store!

In other news, my personal philosophy has continued to evolve, partly as a result of getting to know other folks in the blogosphere. I’m thinking here particularly of Ali, Cat, Jeff, Kay, Kullervo and Rachel; whether settled or searching, the clarity of their intention and the integrity of their writing has influenced my thinking about both blogging and religion. Thanks, guys!

I am both more settled in my identity as a pagan, and less concerned about what that actually “means”, than I was a year ago. For me, right now, being pagan means that I am part of a religious community and movement that generally shares my core belief that The Great Big Whatever It Is is not limited in how it manifests itself (my version of polytheism), and that the best we can do in this life is follow our truths as we understand them, and be excellent to each other.

Go thou and do likewise! May your God(s) bless you greatly in this year of the Rat.

8 Responses to “first anniversary post”

  1. Hi, Erik.

    Congrats on tour 1st Year anniversary!

    In other news, my personal philosophy has continued to evolve, partly as a result of getting to know other folks in the blogosphere. I’m thinking here particularly of Ali, Cat, Jeff, Kay

    Over the past year I myself have been influenced by many of the writers you have listed.

    May your God/s bless you also.

    Mahud (*)

  2. Erik, it’s been a delight to get to know you through your blog this year. I can’t wait to see what’s next!

  3. kay said

    Congratulations on a great year! And hey, thanks for the mention. I’m honored. Confused, but honored. ;-)

  4. executivepagan said

    Thanks for all the kind words!

  5. Feral Boy said

    Erik wrote:

    >…at least until we start seriously working on the children’s book(s) I’m going to be editing. :)

    If you’re taking requests, I would LOVE to finally see you & Colleen do the one about the Christmas vulture!

  6. executivepagan said

    >Christmas vulture
    :D

    Well, these particular books are Greco-Egyptian in focus, but you know… now that all these self-publishing sites are out there, it’s a possibility. I’ll talk to her about it!

  7. S. Nichole said

    Congrats on your blog’s first anniversary. :)

  8. executivepagan said

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
