Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Neologisms – please start using immediately :)

Posted by Erik on March 2, 2008

I have created a couple of new words that I would like to offer the world at large… just for fun. The first actually debuted several years ago on Beliefnet; the second I just came up with a few minutes ago.

Grinoire (n – /ˈgrɪnˌwɑː(r)/) – A collection of pagan or magical humor.

Thinkwort (n – /ˈθiŋkˌwōrt/) – Thoughts or ideas that deserve consideration or inspire reflection, particularly from a source where they are otherwise lacking. (Ex.: “Today’s sermon was not terribly inspired, but it did have enough thinkwort to keep it interesting.”)

4 Responses to “Neologisms – please start using immediately :)”

  1. Awesome. In my official capacity as a linguist, I officially approve these neologisms for all communications, public and private. ;-)

  2. executivepagan said

    Sweet! Now that I have Jeff’s imprimatur, my plan for world conquest through language modification is assured… *G*

    PS – mwahahaha

  3. Pitch313 said

    Both look to be useful terms. Of the two, I find *thinkwort* gets at a quality that we probably noticed but did not have any appropriate word for.

  4. executivepagan said

    Thanks! I tend to agree… “grinoire” really was just for fun, but I think there’s at least a chance that “thinkwort” could catch on at least in a small way.

Leave a Reply

 
