Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

“That would be a great name for a band”

Posted by Erik on June 18, 2008

Today’s post is interactive!

I’ve been playing this game with myself for years, ever since the first time I saw it in a Dave Barry column… collecting random phrases that I come across, or that just pop into my head, that cry out to be band names. If I could remember every imaginary band name (or, occasionally, imaginary song or album title) I’ve seen or thought of, I could publish a small book (likely with Price Stern Sloan…).

This is today’s model (cue drum roll):

The Damnable Monkeys

What are *your* favorites?

7 Responses to ““That would be a great name for a band””

  1. Daniel said

    I’ve always thought “Various Artists” would make a great band name.

    Their first album could be called “Soundtrack”.

  2. executivepagan said

    :)

    I dream of an album titled “Security Device Enclosed”…

  3. Feral Boy said

    From the popular name for a myxomycete:

    PRETZEL SLIME

  4. Feral Boy said

    And from another slime mold — these guys might be Brits —

    DOG’S VOMIT

  5. executivepagan said

    I think you spend too much time thinking about things that grow in the dark… ;)

    Dog’s Vomit is definitely a failed 70’s Britpunk band – the Spinal Tap of punk.

  6. Actually, the finest name for a band ever is “Great Name for a Band.”

    You have to say “Ladies and Gentlemen…[band name]” to really get how a name will work. :)

    This is a game my son and I used to play a lot. One of our best was packing the car, and I said “Did you bring a second umbrella?” (so we’d each have one). Second Umbrella is a great name for a band. Complete with logo.

    One of my son’s real great ones was “Um Thingy.” As in “Ladies and Gentlemen…Um, Thingy.”

  7. executivepagan said

    “Second Umbrella” is a good name!

    I was going to suggest “Foot-Long Hero”, but it’s been done

Leave a Reply

 
