Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

The training is the purpose of the art

Posted by Erik on August 19, 2008

That quote comes from an aikido blog post that I just came across. It encapsulates a lot of what aikido training means to me; in fact, I’ll go farther than that – it says a lot about how I try to approach everything these days. I guess on the surface it sounds kind of like “the journey is the destination”, but I don’t think it is. While the latter phrase is much better known, it strikes me as rather nebulous and New Age-y; the former is an expression of perspective and intention. I train, not because I want to be a black belt, or even necessarily because I want to be able to defend myself – I train because I want to be training, I want to be an aikidoka. If I train well, hard and consistently, the other things will come naturally over time as a result of that, but they are by-products of my training rather than goals.

The same holds true for other areas of my life – I blog because I want to write, and blogging seems to be the most consistent way of ensuring that I do; I worship the Gods because I want to maintain that relationship, and worship is the best way I know to do that. I find that it’s a much nicer way to approach life than constantly reaching for the brass ring and missing the fact that I’m riding on a carousel. (Now if I could only find a way to apply this to my job… :) )

4 Responses to “The training is the purpose of the art”

  1. I treat my job as training ground for pastoral counseling and positive magick. Even if they don’t know that my “real” job is corporate priestess, the effects are evident. I do my best to model the type of leadership and way of life that I wish to be and live. Best part is, it seems to work and I feel like it’s helping me find the road that will take me to earning my living as a priestess.

    Of course, I also forget that some days and wonder why I’m still working in marketing…

  2. executivepagan said

    !שלום עליכם, קצירה

    It sounds like you have a pretty good plan going. My problem is that I still don’t see a connection between what I do (corporate IT) and much of anything that’s meaningful to me personally other than supporting my family. Not that this is a small thing!

  3. Feral Boy said

    Well, every office needs a Coyote! ;)

    I find the best application of that saying in my music. I played harp at many SCA events and feasts, and was disappointed that folk did not have the courtesy to listen to most of the entertainers. So I changed my focus on performances to being practice sessions that I get paid for. When I play the music for it’s own sake, I am then pleasantly surprised when my audience shows their appreciation, and I am not concerned if they don’t.

    My inspiration for my music is all of the musicians that perform the most amazing pieces — and MAKE IT LOOK EASY! A prime example of that is a friend of my wife’s, Solly Burton, who plays the mandolin. He’s going on 17, and has ALREADY won a national competition for mandolin players of ALL ages. And when he’s playing, he’s so relaxed that he looks like he’s fishing — and the music just POURS out. There are a few pieces that I do where I’m approaching that level of competence — I can tell, because I’m smiling while I play them!

    Feral Boy

    P.S. By the way, Solly has just finished recording a CD with some other great musicians in Nashville. You can find out about it here:

    http://www.mandolincafe.com/news/publish/mandolins_00913.shtml

    And his web site is here:

    http://sollyburton.tripod.com/

    There are a couple of audio samples there, but they only
    play on MSIE.

  4. executivepagan said

    Man… that’s good stuff. Reminds me of a thing I heard on NPR a little while back, about an 18-year-old kid who has been rocking the “gypsy swing” world…
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=1660478

Leave a Reply

 
