Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Let’s talk about movies!

Posted by Erik on August 25, 2008

I love movies… movies that make me laugh, that make me cry, that make me think, and feel, and care, and understand. I’ve blogged once about specific scenes that speak to me, but now I want to talk about whole movies (there will be some overlap).

To narrow it down a little bit, and also to keep vaguely on the general topic of this blog, let’s stick with movies that have moved you, that have had some sort of impact on your emotional, spiritual and/or religious outlook. I’ll start with a few of mine:

Ushpizin – This Israeli movie explores the constant struggle to act in all things according to the dictates of one’s faith and conscience, and to balance that with acting from a place of love. Very moving.

Once – I’ve blogged about this one already, but it still goes on the list.

Spirited Away and My Neighbor Totoro – There’s not much to say about the spiritual aspects of Spirited Away that hasn’t already been said… and while Totoro works on a much simpler level, the underlying Shinto-based message that the Divine is present, accessible and local in nature as well as manifesting as (what we in the West think of as) Gods speaks to and reinforces an important aspect of my spirituality. (There are moments in the anime series Kamichu that do this as well.)

Sorceress – This lovely French film was one of the first to open my eyes to the possibilities of a more nature-oriented way of being.

So there’s a handful of the films that have helped, inspired and comforted me on my journey – what are yours?

7 Responses to “Let’s talk about movies!”

  1. Feral Boy said

    One movie that I resonated to very much emotionally was “House Of Flying Daggers”. There was a love triangle in this movie, and given some of my previous experiences, this
    line devastated me: “I sacrificed three years for you. How could you love him after only three days?”

    — Feral Boy

  2. Kay said

    Hey Erik,

    Nice to see your comment at The Crowded Handbasket. I’m actually not blogging there much. I’m still at Songs of Unforgetting.

    Visit me there instead. :)

  3. executivepagan said

    Excellent! Last I knew SoU was shut down.

  4. Yvonne said

    Yeah I love Hayao Miyazaki, the man’s a genius.

    Just dropped in to say…

    We love your blog!

    You have been nominated for the “I love your blog” award by MetaPagan.

  5. Hi,

    I have been meaning to see spirited away. I know that is has received a lot of praise. I think one movie that took me by surprise.. my reaction to this movie took me by surprise was Lost and Delirious. I am not usually into love stories but this one really had me crying.

    Blessings to you….

  6. executivepagan said

    Hi Lori,
    I’m not familiar with that one… what’s it about? (Other than being a love story, obviously)

  7. executivepagan said

    Yvonne,
    Thanks! (And thank you very much to Cat… I’m honored.)

Leave a Reply

 
