Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Best beloved stories

Posted by Erik on November 11, 2008

Sorry for the long silence; I’ve been really busy at work and at home, and also still wrestling with that long post that doesn’t want to be finished.

Cat at QuakerPagan has posted a list of books that she loves that she’s sure everyone else would despise. :)

This got me thinking about stories that I love – not necessarily weird, but the ones that make me feel warm and happy when I think of them. Most of these are from my childhood, but not all – there are couple of latecomers as well.

I’m not going to make this a meme, because frankly I’m a little tired of them at the moment – which is why, with all due appreciation for being included, I decided to opt out of the six-random-things one currently making the rounds – but as always, I invite you all to participate if you wish and let me know *your* favorites. The only stipulation is that they be truly *beloved*; if you could only salvage one box of belongings from your burning house, these are the books (and possibly videos) that would be in that box.

Ursula K. LeGuin – the Earthsea trilogy. Actually, mostly the first two volumes, A Wizard of Earthsea and The Tombs of Atuan.

P. G. Wodehouse – Leave it to Psmith. It’s hard to pick just one Wodehouse book, but since “all the Jeeves books” would be cheating, I’m going to go with this one. (Oh, what the heck – let’s throw in the one where Bertie has to steal the cow creamer. :) )

Roderick Townley – The Great Good Thing. This is one of the latecomers; I picked it up used on a hunch about 5 years ago, and promptly fell in love with it. I read it to my daughter when she was six, and when it ended she immediately made me go back and read it again; to date this is the only book she’s done that with. (She asked for it again when she was seven, and once again this summer… she said that she could read it herself, but that it wouldn’t be the same. Needless to say, this turned me into a large puddle.) Love, loss, adventure, great heart, a genuinely original twist on an old idea… this book has it all.

The Princess Bride (the movie). Yes, I read the book first, and it was great – but it’s the movie that lives in my heart.

Stuff about bears. A. A. Milne – Winnie-the-Pooh; Michael Bond – Paddington Bear; Maurice Sendak – Little Bear (both the books and the later cartoon series). Oh come on, you know you love them too.

Astrid Lindgren – Pippi Longstocking (all three books). I have no idea how many times I read these books. We actually recently found a fourth book, a novelette that she wrote much later, but it’s not the same as the ones I grew up with.

Terry Pratchett – Hogfather. I’ve written about this one before, so I’ll just leave it at that.

A. A. Milne (again) – Once On a Time. This one is more obscure, but it’s well worth hunting down; it’s an absurd, brilliant, delightful send-up of every fairytale convention the author could think of.

M. M. Kaye – The Ordinary Princess. Another great story in the same vein; just a perfect little package.

3 Responses to “Best beloved stories”

  1. Feral Boy said

    My favorite movie of all time has to be “Raiders of the Lost Ark”. It’s just
    tremendous fun from the beginning to the end. I don’t have a copy (or a TV!),
    and just saw it again earlier this year for the first time in many years.
    It’s still true.

    — Feral Boy

  2. Feral Boy said

    Omar: This were the old way, this says “six Kadan height – ”
    Indiana: About seventy-two inches.
    Omar: Wait! [turns medallion over]
    Omar: “And take back one Kadan, to honor the Hebrew God whose ark this is.”
    Indiana: Balloq’s medallion only had writing on one side? You sure about that?
    Sallah: Positive!
    Indiana: Balloq’s staff is too long.
    Indiana, Sallah: THEY’RE DIGGING IN THE WRONG PLACE!

  3. executivepagan said

    Very dangerous. You go first.

    My daughter loves those movies as well… also Star Wars.

Leave a Reply

 
