Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

off the mat

Posted by Erik on November 13, 2008

Well, this is depressing… I apparently sustained some sort of shoulder injury during the aikido seminar last month – not entirely surprising, since the central focus of the seminar was on the many ways to get into sankyo (for those who don’t practice aikido, this is a technique that ends with uke pinned face-down to the mat with their arm twisted behind them perpendicular to the plane of their body). I’ve given and received this hold (and a related hold, nikkyo) many times, but not over and over all day. In typical guy fashion I ignored the (relatively minor) pain for a while, but it kept not getting better, and then the other day I picked up a small pile of books with that arm and it felt like something was separating that shouldn’t… so I finally went to the doctor.

The X-ray revealed a minor degree of osteoarthritis in the shoulder, and I’m scheduled for an MRI next week; for the moment, certainly until she knows the extent of the injury and possibly for some undetermined period after that, I am officially out of training (and right before my next kyu test, naturally). Not sure yet what I’m going to do to keep myself active in the meantime – probably get back on my bike more, as a start, since that doesn’t require much work from the upper body.

5 Responses to “off the mat”

  1. R.D. Hammond said

    Reminds me of seminars with Mader-Sensei. Watching the sempais wince their way through his yonkyos for an entire class made me glad I’m still a white belt.

    Get well soon!

  2. executivepagan said

    Oh man, I hate yonkyo… my sensei has very strong thumbs! :)

    Thanks for the well wishes.

  3. Kay said

    Being injured and not able to do what you want to do sucks! My thoughts are with you. Get well soon!

  4. executivepagan said

    Thanks.

  5. Feral Boy said

    I know how that can be … I stepped into a stump-hole at the trailer about 10 years
    ago & bent my knee WAY too far back. I was thinking, I’m not that old and I’m now
    an invalid ?!? It got better, but is still weak & I need to be aware of it more than
    the other one still. Last year I was putting my harp in the cab of my truck & shoved it in
    with that leg — and the knee bent SIDEWAYS. !@*#*$*!!!! Kneecap was shifted over about
    an inch, and I thought to myself, WELL, it can’t hurt any WORSE … so I pushed it back
    into place. It was not as bad as the first !@#&$&&*!*#!!! and I went back into
    the apartment, put on an elastic brace & played harp that night.

    I try to keep it strong by hiking around the area as much as I can, so it will be
    strong enough to support itself until I eventually do something about it (now that
    we have health insurance!!!).

    Good luck, do what you need to but don’t over do it, and get better soon!

    — Feral Boy

Leave a Reply

 
