Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Kitchen Druidry – savory sweet potatoes

Posted by Erik on November 16, 2008

I recently coined the phrase “kitchen Druidry” to describe what Nettle does… and I liked the phrase, and the attitude that it describes, so much that I am now going to make her share it with me. ;) I envision these “kitchen Druidry” posts as an occasional series that relate in some way to living more in tune with the natural order.

This first post is, obviously, about food. The last few weeks we have gotten a LOT of sweet potatoes from our CSA, and have been trying to figure out what to do with them. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, and growing up in the South I was under the general impression that sweet potatoes came out of the ground with brown sugar and mini marshmallows already on them, because that was the only way I ever saw them prepared. Therefore, I was convinced that they were a culinary evil second only to okra (which I still don’t like).

However, last year my wife discovered a recipe from Martha Stewart for savory roasted sweet potatoes; and they were actually good! We’ve done this recipe to death recently, though. so this evening when I was facing our weekly mound o’ tubers I decided to change it up and try mashing them. Out of curiosity I poked around on the Web a bit, but I found that even the recipes labeled “savory” involved either sugar, or cinnamon, or ginger – all of which intensify the natural sweetness of the sweet potatoes, which is what I wanted to avoid. So, in the end I just went with a mashed variation of the roasted recipe – and they’re great!

(NB: I season by smell and taste, so I apologize in advance for the lack of accurate quantities in this recipe; amounts given are a best guess).

savory mashed sweet potatoes
about 10 sweet potatoes, cut into chunks
2-3 tablespoons butter
¼-½ cup milk
salt
black pepper
minced garlic
rosemary
savory
thyme

Peel and cut the potatoes into large chunks. Boil until fairly soft (about 10 minutes); drain. Mix in butter and milk using hand mixer, until creamy. Stir in seasonings to taste. The batch I made would probably serve six adults.

9 Responses to “Kitchen Druidry – savory sweet potatoes”

  1. nettle said

    We can be kitchen Druids together! Your recipe sounds delicious. I love sweet potatoes – I usually just put ’em whole into the oven and bake for an hour or so and then eat with butter and salt. They are so good all on their own. I was appalled the first time I saw someone ruin good sweet potatoes by putting marshmallows on them. I don’t know where that comes from but it’s horrifying. It’s funny how often I hear people say they “don’t like” a certain vegetable, only to learn that what they really don’t like is the culinary abuse the poor vegetables have been subjected too. My husband thought he didn’t like cabbage until he met me (turns out he didn’t like *boiled* cabbage, but then, who does? ick!) I still don’t like okra, though – right there with you on that one.

    Our CSA has been flooding us with winter squash, which is just fine with me. I also bought a big turkey a few weeks back and cut it up for the freezer (one turkey cut into meal-sized portions will last us all winter.) Tonight, I diced a butternut squash and put it into a clay roasting pan with the two turkey wings, about a quart of turkey broth, a generous amount of thyme, and some salt and pepper. Roasted for about an hour, then took the wings out, pureed the squash, picked the meat off the wings and put it back in, and had delicious turkey-squash soup. Yum.

  2. executivepagan said

    Mmmm… winter squash…

    We got a turkey yesterday. Hoping one will go one sale for 29 cents a pound, like last year, but at least we have one now. (I’m right up there with the dad from A Christmas Story on the “turkey junkie” scale!)

    That soup sounds wonderful; have you considered putting together The Kitchen Druid’s Cookbook yet? :)

  3. Feral Boy said

    I’m with you on the okra. My distaste dates to my childhood in San Francisco,
    and let’s just say involves the little kid who lived in the apartment downstairs …
    and slugs.

    — Feral Boy

  4. Sabrina said

    I’m with you on both the okra and sweet-sweet potatoes–yuck! But your savory recipe recipe for sweet potatoes seems like something I’d eat in a heartbeat. Thanks for sharing!

  5. executivepagan said

    My pleasure – hope you like them. Thanks for reading!

  6. Hrafnkell said

    First of all, you can’t go wrong with potatoes. Second, you can’t go wrong with potatoes. Thanks for sharing!

  7. executivepagan said

    Wasn’t there a third thing? :P

  8. executivepagan said

    Nettle has posted a wonderful response to this post on her blog – I wanted to be sure everyone saw it.

  9. Nettle said

    aww, thanks for the plug. Glad you liked my “cookbook”!

Leave a Reply

 
