Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

If It Be Your Will

Posted by Erik on December 26, 2008

This is my arrangement of Leonard Cohen’s classic song. I have inserted a new second verse between LC’s original first two verses, and left off his last two verses, transforming his conversation with the Jewish God into a prayer for inspiration to the Mousai and/or the Awen. (Cohen’s verses are in italics.)

If it be your will that I speak no more
And my voice be still as it was before
I will speak no more, I shall abide until
I am spoken for, if it be your will

If it be your will that my song be heard
Send your gifts to me, breathe the holy word
Send your gifts to me, my waiting heart to fill
I will set them free, if it be your will

If it be your will that a voice be true
From this broken hill I will sing to you
From this broken hill all your praises they shall ring
If it be your will, to let me sing

From this broken hill all your praises they shall ring
If it be your will, to let me sing

2 Responses to “If It Be Your Will”

  1. Fey said

    This is inspired! I love the change you’ve made. It’s been one of my favourite songs for many years now, but with the new verse, it is even better!

  2. executivepagan said

    Thanks! I think it was inspired, actually – I hesitate to claim full credit for it. :) I asked Apollon and the Mousai for inspiration recently, and I think this is the first fruit of it… which, I hope appropriately, I am offering back to Them.

Leave a Reply

 
