Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Very disappointing

Posted by Erik on September 23, 2009

Having thoroughly enjoyed Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, I was… well, frankly, doubtful that the joke would extend to a second volume, but willing to give it a try. I’m sad to report that I didn’t get very far.

The new book, Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters, has a fairly amusing cover (I actually like the cover for this one better than P&P&Z’s, since it more accurately reflects the contents – Elizabeth Bennett was NOT herself a zombie)… unfortunately, it gets much less funny once the cover is opened.

The thing that made the first book work is that the “co-author” made an honest (and reasonably successful, IMO) effort to fit the zombie subplot into the Bennett’s world. The new material was obviously written with an eye to attempting a genuine pastiche of Austen’s style, and the overall structure of the story was not tampered with more than necessary to achieve the desired effect. In the new book, the (different) “co-author” has basically taken Austen’s characters and imported them into his world, and it just doesn’t work.

2 Responses to “Very disappointing”

  1. Courtney said

    There’s a review in the most recent Creative Loafing that says pretty much the same thing. I haven’t read either one of the books, though. I think I’m not sure if I want my Austen tarnished. :)

    I saw this and I thought of you: “Don’t trust anyone you meet online. You could regret it.”

  2. executivepagan said

    Ah, thanks – that’s very cute.

Leave a Reply

 
