Executive Pagan

If Eddie Izzard can be an executive transvestite, I can be an executive pagan.

  • Recent Comments

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

Rock of Ages

Posted by Erik on November 24, 2009

In the mid-1980s I was given a cassette recording of a “Secular Humanist Revival” talk, given by the now-highly-Mormon Orson Scott Card. (I’m sure I still have the tape… somewhere. Probably right next to my grandfather’s (z”l) old bootleg copy of The Investigator.) It’s well worth tracking down if you can find it – although now the only bit that I remember fully is his version of that old chestnut, “Rock of Ages”, which cracked me up so much again in the remembering that I wanted to share it with you.

Rock of Ages, by the sea,
In the hands of entropy.
As the ocean and the flood
Carve the rock and move the mud –
Rock of Ages you will see,
Broken down by entropy.

2 Responses to “Rock of Ages”

  1. Kay said

    I had no idea that Card used to be a Secular Humanist. Really? Wow. My mind was slightly discombobulated for a moment, but I’m fine now. ;-) The Rock of Ages parody is priceless.

    Have you read any of Card’s sci-fi? You’d think that as a Utah native, surrounded by Mormons, that I would have by now, but I haven’t.

  2. executivepagan said

    Reading the bio on his website, it doesn’t seem that he ever was… but I think he may have had more of a sense of humor (and compassion) in those days. Like many other people, I have a hard time reconciling the author of the deeply humane and compassionate Ender’s Game with the writer of anti-gay-marriage screeds.

    I have read and liked a number of his books, although I couldn’t get my brain around the “Alvin Maker” books; the dialect was too thick.

Leave a Reply

 
